I’m back and this week I’m answering a question that came via twitter about how I self-edit.

Now I think it’s important to emphasis that while this week’s articles are about editing they are about my personal approach. This doesn’t mean you can’t pick up some tricks from it, I simply want to be clear that the editing methods I’m discussing this week are by no means definitive. Everyone develops their own method that works for them. I’ll be putting a note of this on each article just so nobody forgets.

If you have any questions please ask them via the comments section or Twitter to help me find article subjects that will most help you.

All the articles in this series consider in various ways showing/telling.

  • Monday – Hysteria The First Draft, The very first episode of Victorian Mistress is the example piece for the week, see the published version of Hysteria.
  • Tuesday – Figuring Out The Story, My first step is to look at what characters want in a scene.
  • Wednesday – Getting Informative, My second step is working out what I, or the characters, want to reveal in a scene.
  • Thursday – Making Movement, Step three is making characters move to create context and develop my implication method.
  • Friday – Doing Dialogue, Step four is developing the characters’ voices, what do they say and how do they say it?
  • Saturday – A Word on Word Lists – A look at why I don’t use word lists or cut specific words.

 The Weekly Serial is on hiatus until a new one begins on the 30th September 2017.

See the complete Victorian Mistress here. Also available on Wattpad here.

Watch out for the announcement of the next weekly serial on the 3rd September 2017.

Leave a Reply:

